top of page

Back on track!

There's ups. There's downs. But the ups, that's what we live for. They surpass every little bit of disappointment thrown in our paths. And that is why we carry on: fighting for every second, every bit of progression we can find no matter how many obstacles we have to overcome.

Last wkd I was due to ride the Scottish 50 TT. Postponed twice already due to roadworks we all had high hopes of a 3rd time lucky for this event. Sadly it was not to be. We traveled up to Fordoun the night before and I had my best preparation ever for a race. I was totally relaxed and ready to give it my all. I woke my legs up with a short warm up prior to the race start and rolled up to the line just 2 minutes before my official start time, but was met by some very frustrated hand gestures by the time keepers and commissaires. They broke the news to us. A combine harvester had broken down out on the course spilling hydraulic fluid all over the road deeming it unsafe for us to race on. The TT was cancelled again - but a quick decision was made to re-organise it alongside the 100TT the following wkd. Although it was frustrating, maybe we would get to race it after all!?

I quickly put it to the back of my mind though as I had to refocus on my final event of the season, this time on the track. The Glasgow Sprint Grand Prix 3km Individual Pursuit. For those who don't know. The individual pursuit is a timed track event where two riders race against each other on the opposite sides of the track. I was so excited to get back racing on the track, there is something truly special about it and I just wanted to get started. The day came and nerves buddied up with my excitement. My RT23 team mates had already been up racing and qualified 3rd fastest in the team pursuit breaking the Scottish record before it was broken again. I joined them in the pens near the entrance to the track. Bikes and wheels were scattered all over. I still had an hour until my sign on, so I sat down and tried to calm my nerves. It was great being with my team mates, they were joking about as always and took my mind off the challenging task at hand. It was then the news was broken to us again. The 50TT was cancelled for the 4th and final time the next day due to a very poor weather forecast that made it too risky for us riders. With that in mind I knew now I had nothing to lose, every ounce of my focus and energy had to go into this pursuit. I was very lucky to have my awesome coach Peter Ettles there. He had been part of the RT23 team pursuit squad which had qualified for a second ride, but he offered to help me out with my ride first. I told him my aim was to get a PB which meant I had to go quicker than my 4.16.000 from last year. He wrote up a schedule of times for me to follow to make this possible and we targeted a 4.14. I was down to ride in the 3rd and final heat. We watched and waited as the other riders finished their heats. We knew if I got the PB I was after I would get a ride in the 1st place final. It was all or nothing.

Deep breaths in the start gate. An eye on the clock. It felt like an eternity before it finally started counting down. Then the final bleep, and we were away, a wee bit of a rough start but quickly up to speed out of the saddle for half a lap. The gun fired. I didn't really hear it - I was so focused on getting the effort right but then I caught sight of Lulu - the girl I was up against. An unfortunate incident meant that we both had to have a restart. All that start line stress we had gone through, was repeated. Back to the beginning. More deep breaths, total control. An eye on Peter at the side of the track as he motioned for me to look ahead ready. And once more, we rolled away from the start gate. Out of the saddle, pushing the pedals hard to get up to speed. I settled into my rhythm, breathing heavy trying to control it and keep the oxygen flowing. Each lap passed, and Peter instructed me from the side of the track, keeping me on schedule. The 1st 2 laps even, but as I came round again, a second up. I was eating into our original schedule and on the 12th and final lap I was a clear 3 seconds ahead of schedule and a PB by 5 seconds! Lulu had overtaken me and put a further 10 seconds into my time but I was more than happy to come in 2nd to her and be into that all important final round. My first ever track final! All thanks to that legend at the side of the track.

We headed back down to the track center and Peter rushed about getting ready for his 2nd ride in the team pursuit. Unfortunately they were up against the British Champions who caught them which meant the gun was fired ending the race early as it was guaranteed who would win. A shame for them as it would have been interesting to get a time to compare to especially as they had already broken the Scottish record that morning but again with racing it's all ups and downs and these things happen. There was some time before my final and quite a bit of waiting around. It was eventually time to warm up, but the events were about an hour behind schedule so I ended up having to warm up twice before we were due on the track. Giving me plenty time to crash the rollers twice and get on them back wards - i was that nervous!!

At last it was time for the final. Peter and I increased the schedule again and made it even more ambitious. We both knew it would take a lot to shave another 3 seconds off but it gave me a new focus and took my attention off trying to beat an unbeatable Lulu. You don't get anywhere without being ambitious so we agreed a 4.08 seemed a sensible target. So back on the start line for a 3rd and final time. The clock ticked down once more. And I was back into the pain cave. I started even to our new schedule once more and quickly began to gain on it. Sounds great - but not what we wanted! I panicked a little. Only 3 seconds? I need to push on. By lap 7 it was clear to us both I was fading slightly. 3 seconds became 2, then 1 until we were back on the schedule. I was tiring now and panicking again I tried to find a bit more for the final lap but it was too late. My legs and lungs were screaming. Too deep too early. Still a new PB once again with a 4.09.684 and we cracked that 4.10. But sadly just off the pace of the 4.08. A learning experience all the same. I rolled round the bottom of the track, my eyes blurry, coughing up my lungs (sorry too much info!) then managed to catch hold of the fence and stop. Peter was there to rescue me as I climbed off and he talked me through the timings. Then we had to get down the stairs. The last thing you want to face after that kind of effort. We made it. My legs were burning, quick roller cool down and lots of water and I almost felt human again. Even though it was such a tough race, i am really pleased with the progress I have made on the track. No doubt I am still kicking myself over my pacing of my final effort as I know I could have gone even quicker if I'd just calmed down when I was 3 seconds up but can't complain with 2nd place overall and 2 PBs. All down to Peter's help; his knowledge, wheels, expertise and training that he has helped me with. Been such an amazing year and I owe him so much. And it was so exciting and interesting to race to a schedule which I had never had the opportunity to do before. It was a lot of fun. Thank you Peter!

Now I'm looking forward to all the winter training in store. With the track league each week I'm hoping to get quicker and more experienced on the track.

But just want to take this time to thank everyone who has helped me out this year. To my 3 main sponsors, Central Investment, Springfield Properties and Wired Orthodontics for making it possible for me to keep racing at this level and achieving my aims. While also giving support to my team and helping make it such a successful year for us, it is hugely appreciated by us all at RT23 and will definitely go a long way in helping me chase my dreams. To the wonderful Ally Main, Rhona Leslie, Gareth Luce and Mike Mackay for all their sponsorship and support throughout this year. And huge thanks also to Elgin Chartered Physiotherapists, Elgin Rotary Club and the Chris Andersen Fund. Thank you to the fabulous Moray Wheelers too for their endless support in my journey and being such a massive part in my cycling! And not forgetting every one who has also put so much time, money, and effort in to me and for all the help with accommodation and travel this year which has enabled me to keep racing. Wouldn't be possible without it! Thank you all so much! X


bottom of page