top of page

If there is no struggle, there is no progress


Hey everyone, sorry it's been a while since I last wrote as the last few months have been very busy. Since my shoulder injury put a massive dent in the end of my road racing season I have been building fitness again for next season. I have been doing lots of miles on the road and I have also done some hard racing and training at the Velodrome too. Things have certainly not been running smoothly lately and I've hit lots of bumps in the road which are unavoidable. However, these things do happen in sport and I'm still alive and kicking to tell the story and my determination is burning like a fire within me like never before.

When I started my winter training for the 2019 season back in October I raced the Scottish National Omnium Champs. It was my first race back in contention and I was quite pleased with my 6th place as it was such a shock to the system riding at that intensity. It is a bit of a blur now but I remember fighting so hard to hang on the wheels and being heartbroken that I wasn't up there in the front group racing for the podium. It was an odd sensation knowing how much fitness and strength I had lost in such a short time and riding a solo struggle to the finish rather than a tactical battle amongst the others for the finish.

My training soon picked up from there. The result at the Omnium reminded me how far I had come and how much I had gained which gave me that extra incentive to find my strength and get myself back on track. My next race was the Scottish National Track Championships where I raced the Scratch and Points events. I would normally ride the Individual Pursuit at the Champs too but my shoulder felt unstable on my pursuit bars and I couldn't race in a low enough position that wouldn't hurt my shoulder so I didn't force it and instead limited myself to just the two races. I've learnt a lot of lessons the hard way in the past and this was one of those times where I had to listen to my body. Trying to rush an injury does you no good and only puts you into a vicious recovery cycle which seems to have no end and wares you down.

On the Saturday of the championship weekend I rode the Scratch race. I finished in 10th place which left me seriously disappointed as the year before I was up there at the front of the race and was inches from the podium. I knew within myself I had lost that track confidence to really race and give it a go. You have to take opportunities in races like this and make it so it suits your abilities. I knew I wouldn't be fit enough to stay with them when they were racing hard, but I was too scared to try and catch them out and make a break for it. So I sat back and watched the race unfold. Waiting for the finish, hoping for a miracle. But as soon as the 3 laps to go came I was shelled from the back of the group and any chance of a podium disappeared round the track with the rest of the group. I was furious with myself and felt completely ashamed of my ride. How could I face the next day of racing? I had failed and I was bitterly disappointed with myself. Was I just a good for nothing cyclist who was probably never going to see the front of a bike race ever again? No way. I had to try. I picked myself up again and told myself to get a grip. I love this sport above anything, I do it not just for the thrill of winning, the buzz of progress and the excitement of good results. But more than anything the absolute joy of speeding round the track and the intense tactical battle there is that one small choice on the track could determine whether you finish on the podium or not. I reminded myself that no matter how badly one race goes, every day is different and no one got anywhere by backing down when things start getting tough. "Get your head on, get back out there and go give it everything you've got."

On the Sunday I rode the points race. I was ready to try again. This is my favorite track event too so I was determined to try and prove to myself that I could still fight hard and race to my advantage. The first 10 laps of the race were over with very quickly as everyone was fresh and keen to mix the race up and try for a few breakaways. But no one managed to get a gap yet. I was out of contention for the first lot of points as I couldn't match the pace of the other girls. Eventually one of the riders attacked and looked to have caught out the rest of the riders so I dived onto her wheel to go with her thinking that if we could get away together we would have a good chance at the next lot of points. She is really strong and I thought I might be able to give her a quick breather on my wheel if i took a few turns. However, she obviously didn't think the move would last and she swung back up the track after several seconds. I made a split second decision. I looked round and could see roughly that I had a gap that was near enough a quarter of a lap. Why not? This was the perfect situation that I was looking for. To get away and catch out the rest of the group. Was I fit enough to hold them off? Definitely not. But was I capable of making the most of my advantages? Yes at this point I had a lot on my side. The day before I proved I was not at the level I was that time last year so they didn't see me as a serious threat. They were watching each other rather than me so I had a gap before they could do much about me. It was perfect. Now all I had to do was to make a massive effort to hold them off at least before the next lot of points. To give myself a chance. I buried myself. Six laps solo with my legs screaming endlessly at me to stop. I ignored them. Now or never. The fight was back in me - and I made it. Maximum points at the second sprint I couldn't believe it. However, I put so much effort into that attack that when the bunch caught me I only just managed to hang on to them as they passed. I spent much of the rest of the race recovering and even though I didn't have enough in the tank to get myself any more points I was quietly pleased with my race. I gave it a shot. Sometimes it doesn't work, sometimes it does. And this time I proved to myself it is always worth a shot. I finished the race in 6th place.

A few weeks later things improved again. I raced the team sprint with one of my favourite girls who is a super strong sprinter. We had an ace time and she helped me to my first podium of the year. In the qualifying ride my saddle slipped and I ended up racing the final of two laps with my knees up to my chin, or so it felt. But we still managed to pull off a quick enough time to get us a ride in the 3rd place final. I did not want to let her down. Every part of me was focused on giving every inch of effort to help my team mate. It wasn't about me it was about doing a good enough ride to make it a successful days sprinting for my teammate. She nailed her starts and on the second I made sure to fight like crazy to get on her wheel and we did it. By some intensely small tenths of a second we succeeded in getting third place.

Since then I've met a few bumps in the road once again. Things that have helped shape my mentality on life.

At the start of December I had a rough week to put it simply. On the Monday, we finally had a dry and sunny day in Stirling and for a change we had the morning off classes. It was perfect for squeezing in an extra couple of hours on the road before I had to study all afternoon. I got up early and jumped on the bike for a road ride. The roads were clear round my house and the forecast was decent so I headed out onto quieter back roads to get a few more hills in. The temperature soon dropped though and before I realised I was riding into what appeared to be an ice rink in the middle of the road. A second later my wheel was sliding and I was falling towards the ground for the first time since my shoulder injury. I was terrified and it was such a slow speed fall that I had so much time to think. What was I doing? What if I stupidly damaged my shoulder again. I managed to do a neat tuck and roll and slid with my bike several feet down the road. I quickly got up and dragged my bike to the side of the road and waited several minutes. I moved my shoulders and knees and all seemed ok. I set off back home and was extra cautious, dreading the sudden feeling of pain rushing to any of my bones. But apart from bruised knees, nothing happened. I was so relieved I could have jumped for joy. It has taught me lots of lessons most especially to be smarter. I could have ruined all of next season too in my desperation to get out on the bike. To do well you have to do what is best in the long run not what you really want to do one morning.

I got on with it though exceptionally relieved and continued on with the week. On Friday I was booked in at the track with my friends as we were going to ride as a team at pies and pursuits the following week for some festive fun. Two of my friends picked me up and on the drive through to Glasgow from Stirling we were involved in a collision. Coming into the roundabout for the Motorway we had to stop as there were lots of cars coming from the right at a very busy time and the next second a lorry ploughed into the back of us and we went flying forwards. In absolute shock and shaking uncontrollably we looked round at each other. Somehow we were ok, so too were the bikes and the car was relatively unscathed for the impact that we had received. I feel incredibly lucky that we all survived that. I have never been so scared in my life, I've never felt an impact like it. Every day is a bonus after something like that. Make the most of everything you have. Love and care for everyone and everything around you, don't stress the little things. One day it could all be gone. Your attitude to things is the only thing you can control.

One may think we didn't make it to the track after that. Think again ;-) Nothing was going to stop us. We checked the car, spoke with the lorry driver, then we all agreed the best way to recover from that traumatic experience was to go to the track still. We got there and it did indeed took our minds off it. We had a great time and eventually the shaking stopped. We were doing team pursuit efforts behind the derny bike, it was a great session and gave us all a good confidence boost.

At Pies and Pursuits the following week we had a great night. I was beating myself up after the first ride as I felt I let the team down by messing up the start. I wasn't on my teams wheel quick enough and a big gap opened up before I could do anything about it. I wasted so much energy chasing back on I slowed the team down when I took the my turns on the front. My amazing team mates gave me a good pep talk and helped me get my head back on though so on the second ride we nailed our effort. I was right on the wheel and was strong enough to push the pace up on my turns. A great way to end my race season with these awesome girls.

What a year its been. So many highs and lows. I've struggled deeply with the mental aspect at times but I've always managed to get myself back on track. I always remind myself why I do it, how much I love it and how far I've come and I know that there is nothing else in the world that I would rather be doing. Everyone suffers, its how you deal with it that counts.

And on that note, and it being the very last day of this rollercoaster of a year, I want to say a very happy new year to all my friends, family and followers. I want the very best for all of you and your families. Your support drives me forward when there doesn't seem to be a light at the end of the tunnel and that makes a difference like you could never imagine. Thank you for being so wonderful and I hope 2019 brings you all health, happiness and I hope all your dreams come true. Keep being wonderful!

Much love Georgia xx


bottom of page